Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Egypt, UAE, Yemen Cut Ties With Qatar

Saudi Arabia Bahrain Egypt UAE Yemen Cut Ties With QatarSaudi Arabia, Bahrain, Egypt, and the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen are breaking off diplomatic relations and cutting sea, land, and air ties with Qatar, accusing the fellow Sunni Arab state of backing “terrorist groups aiming to destabilize the region,” as well as “Iranian-backed terrorist groups” active in east Saudi Arabia and Bahrain. Qatari diplomats now have 48 hours to leave the UAE, Bahrain, and Saudi Arabia. Qatar protested that there was “no legitimate justification” for the actions, vowing that it citizens won’t be affected by the “violation of its sovereignty.” UEA airlines Emirates, Etihad, and FlyDubai all announced they will cease flying to Doha, Qatar’s capital, and it’s unclear if Qatar Airways, a major long-haul carrier, will be able to continue flying through Saudi airspace. Qatar hosts 10,000 U.S. troops and a headquarters of U.S. Central Command, while Bahrain hosts the U.S. Navy’s 5th Fleet.